Kurt Busch claims Daytona 500 victory

On Sunday, the 59th annual running of the Daytona 500 being run at the Daytona International Speedway and after a relatively quiet beginning to Sunday’s great American race, things quickly turned into a wreck fest in the second half of the event.

First it was Matt Kenseth, Dale Earnhardt Junior and Kyle Busch caught in a multi-car mealy, then defending series champion Jimmie Johnson fell victim to a lap 128 crash that also collected Kevin Harvick and about a dozen others.

But after the smoke cleared it was Kurt Busch who crossed the finish line first, to win his first ever Daytona 500 in his 17th try. Ryan Blaney, AJ Allmendinger, Aric Almirola and Paul Menard rounded out the top five.

The Monster Energy Nascar Cup Series next heads to Atlanta next weekend.