Leach and Minshew earn top honors


    SAN FRANCISCO, CA -- Washington State head football coach Mike Leach and grad transfer quarterback Garnder Minshew earned the Pac-12 highest honors on Tuesday, the conference announced.

    For the second time during his tenure at WSU, Mike Leach has won conference coach of the year.

    He's the third WSU head football coach to win the award twice, along with Jim Walden and Mike Price.

    Gardner Minshew is the first Coug to win a conference yearly honor since quarterback Jason Gesser won Pac-10 Conference Offensive Player of the Year in 2002.

    This is the latest accolade for Minshew this week.

    On Monday, he on the 2018 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, was named first-team All-Pac-12 and he's a finalist for the Walter Camp Player of the Year, Davey O'Brien Award (nation's best quarterback) and the Manning Award (nation's best quarterback after the bowl season).

    Minshew lead the country in:

    - Passing yards per game (373.1)

    - Total offense (387.7)

    - 300-yard games (11)

    - 400-yard games (six)

    He was fifth in the nation in touchdown passes with 36.

    Leach lead WSU to a 10-2 (7-2 in Pac-12 play) season, its first 10-win season since 2003.

    News In Photos

      Loading ...